The Beauty of Mt. Merbabu

Actually, we’re planning to go to Mt. Prau, Central Java, Indonesia. But at the D day, we found out that the road which we had to go was broken, so we spread out our map and searched for another mountain nearby. Because we’re planning to go to Jogjakarta at the end of this trip, so we choose Mt. Merbabu to be our destination.

This time I went with two of my friends. We’re going to Mt. Merbabu, a 3148 mdpl mountain located at Central Java, Indonesia. I never went to a mountain with more than 3000++ mdpl height, so this is my first time and this is my first time assisting my friend in a trip (usually, I went with minimum of 4 persons), but this time there were only three of us. So yeah that means more weight I have to carry this time and yep, full 80 liter carrier.

P1060082So, this time I put on my time table of my trip, so you guys can predict how long will you take to enjoy this trip. But, do remember that every people ability and stamina are different, do not compare yourself to others, because each of us is unique. :p


Day 1

16.22 – 19.00 : Registration at Basecamp Wekas, journey to Pos 1 (camp)

Day 2

08.30 : Wake up, repacking, breakfast
11.00 – 13.30 : Pos 1 – Pos 2 Wekas
14.00 – 15.30 : Pos 2 Wekas – Watu Gede
16.00 – 16.30 : Watu Gede – Pertigaan Wekas
17.00 – 17.30 : Pertigaan Wekas – Pos Pemancar (Camp)

Day 3

05.30 : Wake up, Sunrise, Breakfast, Repacking
07.30 – 12.00 : Pos Pemancar – Puncak Syarief – Kenteng Songo
13.00 – 15.30 : Kenteng Songo – Pos 3 Selo
16.00 – 18.30 : Pos 3 Selo – Basecamp Selo (Registration, dinner, sleep)

DAY 1

We went up from Wekas and went down to Selo. First, you have to registered yourself at the basecamp, never ever forget to do this guys, because this is a really important thing to do when you hike a mountain. The data which you submitted to the ranger is crucial for them, in case you went missing or you got hurt in your journey, they can find you based on the data. After registered ourselves to the ranger, three of us started to repack our carrier, ready to hike the mountain. As usual the first step was really hard, because you have to adapt with thin oxygen. After walking for 2-3 hours, we arrived at the 1st post, we built our tent there and went to sleep. We wanted to do this trip more relax, no hurry, so we really enjoy the first day.

P1060049
Happy three friends!

DAY 2

P1060056I woke up at 7 AM and then went out from the tent, enjoying the morning in the forest. Took some photos there before my friends woke up. LOL I like the heat from the sunrise, it really warmed up your body temperature, after sleeping through the freezing night. That day was really quiet, because we hiked on the first day of fasting. It felt like Mt. Merbabu was yours and only yours, I like it, because when you hike with full of people, it makes you harder to hike because you have to wait and move aside many times. But this time, I did enjoy the atmosphere. 🙂

P1060071
Hello sunshine!

On day 2, we planned to reach Pos Pemancar, why is it call Pos Pemancar? Well, it just because it has a transmiter there. LOL We met bunch of monkeys on our way there. I also saw 3 chickens running and hopping around, it was the coolest chicken I ever saw! Their feather was like metallic green and black, I never saw chickens like that in town. haha.

P1060094We arrived at Pos Pemancar at 5.30 PM, it was sunset and it was AMAZING! I don’t have any words to describe that moment. It was just stunning. I’d love to sit and stare at the sun for a long time. I prefer sunset than sunrise, because I couldn’t take the morning breeze! It’s so cold! haha.

P1060204
I just love this view… Hi Mt. Sindoro and Mt. Sumbing!

P1060193P1060209After taking photos, we set our tent inside the building near the transmiter to avoid the wind. It’s a little bit spooky though.

P1060226
The Spooky Building

Day 3

Woke up to see the starry sky, but unfortunately my camera is not that professional, so I couldn’t capture the starry sky. But I took some photos of city lights 😀 It was so cold, I barely can press my camera shutter button.

P1060244
City lights of Central Java

After a while, 6 guys showed up from the opposite side, they were from Salatiga. Talked for a while and then we packed up our things and walked our way again. The track from Pos Pemancar to Kentheng Songo is a little bit hard, it was rocky and really REALLY steep. And you have to go through ‘Jembatan Setan’ or ‘The Devil Bridge’ (unfortunately I didn’t took any photos there, because it’s so hard to get my camera or even my phone there, maybe I was too focused on climbing that rocks). It is a spot where you need to climb the rock and cross it to another side without any rope at all. Note: You have to bring your carrier if your way down is from Wekas to Selo. It would be horrible if you fall or slip, I just can’t imagine how you will end up down there, if you fall.

Okay, skip the horrifying part, so finally we arrived at Puncak Syarief! You can have 360 degrees view from Puncak Syarief. Didn’t take so many photos there, because we still have a long way down today. We walked again to Kentheng Songo, the highest peak of Mt. Merbabu. Well, again and again, rock and steep, I guess it was the perfect combination for Merbabu’s track from Pos Pemancar to Kentheng Songo.

P1060356
Puncak Syarief!

Sweat and exhausted, finally we arrived at Kentheng Songo, Indonesia flag was waving its color in front of us. Felt grateful because I can reached the top of this mountain with two of my friends. Sat and enjoyed the view from up there was unforgettable.

P1060405DSC02380Up there we met some friends from Parahyangan University, Bandung. It was always good to met new friends!

After taking many photos up there, we went down to Selo. The track was WOW. Full of dust and it will make your feet like WOW. haha. My both thumbs were swollen after went through that track. I couldn’t go as fast as my friend, so I was the sweeper at that time. Heavy carrier, exhausted, but I still had to walk a long way to reach the base camp. My motivation was only to go back home safely, meet my mom and dad, my brother and my sister. It will always be my biggest motivation when I hiked. 🙂

P1060424
The view from Selo track

It was really A LONG WAY DOWN. Thanked God, all of us arrived safely at the basecamp with no major injury, except my knee was like OUCH, it colored blue black. ckck. We finally arrived at the basecamp at 6.30 PM I guess, and there’s no transportation left to go to Jogjakarta. So we spent the night there, another work for the sleeping bag. hahaha. Even when we slept inside the house, it was still really really cold! OMG, but I still love the cold than the cold from Air Con. 😀

So yeah, it was my story at Mt. Merbabu. Merbabu has taught me many things, many values in life. The whole journey was a unique story that I love. The view was stunning, I just can’t get off Merbabu out of my mind. I fell in love with merbabu, definitely will come back again.

6 thoughts on “The Beauty of Mt. Merbabu

  1. The view of the mountains is absolutely stunning! It’s so beautiful. 🙂 It seems like you had an amazing trip with your friends.
    If you don’t mind me asking, what kind of camera did you use to take those photos? They’re really high quality!

    Like

Leave a comment