“Everest” Movie Review

Everest-from-Gokyo1_20150224062743


Hi Guys,

Today I’m reviewing a movie I just saw in the cinema. “Everest“. I’m sure everyone knows about this movie and I guess everyone who loves to hike a mountain will be curious about this movie. Actually, I’m not reviewing about the whole movie, but I wrote this post because it’s just the first thing I had in my mind after watching this movie. One thing I can tell you about this movie is INSANE. Yes, this movie is insane. Why? Because it shows us many life values that we need to know.

So, let me tell you about…

First. EGO and SAFETY.

Never EVER push your limit even it is for a bucket of gold, or in this case, to reach the top of the mountain. Just because you want to reach the peak, you make yourself in a serious trouble. Not even yourself, you also bring others in jeopardy. Don’t you realize that others also have someone who are waiting for them to come home? Don’t you ever think about yours too? Do you ever imagine about your mom and dad, brothers and sisters who lost you? Never put your ego in front of anything else, before you want to do it, think again. Is it worth it?

Second. PEOPLE WHO LOVE YOU.

I do believe that all of us has someone that we love. I don’t know if it’s your mom, dad, your loved one or else, but, I guess having someone we truly love will always be a motivation for us in everything we do. I do put my family first when I go hiking with my friends. I always say to myself that “I need to come back home safely, I need to hug my mom and dad after this hike, I need to see my sister and brother to tell them my stories.” And I do not lie about this, I do that every time I finished my hike, eventhough I have to go to work on the next day, I do come back home or if I cannot go back home at that day, I come home after I finished my work that day. Phone call is a must, from the beginning to the end of the trip. Motivation from people who love you is a power that can encourage you to do something extraordinary. In this movie, we can see it from Rob and his wife, Jan. Only by hearing Jan’s voice, Rob managed to crawl his way up to get closer to the rescue team (eventhough, the rescue team had to retreat because of the storm). The reason you push your limit is because you need to see again people who love you, not because of your egoism.

Third. TEAMWORK.

What we need to do in mountaineering is teamwork. Yes, teamwork. What do you expect? How many mountains you have climbed, doesn’t show you that you are the conqueror of the world. You think you can hike the mountain by yourself? No, I don’t think so. Yes, let’s say you are capable of hiking the mountain by yourself, alone. But, let’s put the situation like the “Everest” movie. If Rob and Scott didn’t unite their group into one, I think both of their group will not survive the mountain, like NO ONE will ever reach the top. They combine their supplies, their skills, their communications so they can get a better result. Even Rob and Scott did some mistakes up there, their O2 cans was not full, and they miscommunicate where they put it. Can you imagine if you are going alone to a mountain and then you get injured by something and you cannot walk? I bet you’re in a very big trouble there, with no one to help you. In my opinion, if you want to hike, please bring someone with you. 2 persons would be enough. You will have friend to talk along the way, someone who will be there when you need help, and so on. Be wise, my friends…

Fourth. NATURE.

Never underestimate the power of nature. Nature was made by God. God already put some systems in nature that people like us cannot handle. Even if we can handle it, I know it will torture our body, like literally torture your body and mind. Many people I’ve met, sometimes they underestimate the power of nature.

“Nah, it’s just a little hike for me.”

“It’s just Mt. XXX no need to worry about anything.”

“I can do this and that on that mountain, I know what to do.”

My questions would be like “REALLY?”… You just cannot predict about nature. Do you think nature is safe? Do you think your home is safe? My answer would be NO, because we are living in this unsafe world, which we do not know what will happen next. We don’t know if there will be an earthquake at your neighborhood? We don’t know that there will be fire near your camp in the forest ? We don’t know that there will be a tornado in front of your eyes? What will you do about it? Still want to boast your skills? I don’t think it will help. We don’t have a clue about it at all. Nature has its own rhythm, people only can adjust themselves to it. For example, many people threw trashes everywhere they like, but when flood came flooding their homes, they get angry, I just didn’t get the point why they are so angry? Everything has its own karma. (I do believe in Karma) If you do something good, you will get something good in returen. If you do something bad, well you know what you will get. So, please do RESPECT and PRESERVE the nature…


 

I think that’s all I want to share with you, guys.. No offense, I’m just sharing my thought through my blog. If it helps you, awesome, if it’s not, maybe you can give me some feedbacks at the comment section 😀 I am open to any tips and tricks..

Thank you for reading!

4 thoughts on ““Everest” Movie Review

  1. You bring up some great points. I especially like that you’ve highlighted the fact that we need to think about others, not just ourselves. It’s always good to ask how your actions will affect the people around you!
    I haven’t seen Everest… for some reason, I keep thinking it’s going to be boring. But if you say it’s ‘insane,’ maybe I should change my mind!

    Like

    1. Hi!
      Yes, up there, there’s no place for ‘ego’. Actually not only at the mountain, but in our daily life, it’s also important to consider about others.
      Hahaha, I also haven’t seen Everest. Let’s check it out together maybe!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment